The Specials (SFPS018)

The Specials

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS018
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM, EP
Country: UK
Released: 1986
Genre: Rock
Style: Ska
Transmission Date: 29 May 1979

℗ 1986 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1986 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A2Too Much Too Young2:05
B1Concrete Jungle3:18
B2Monkey Man2:38



  • Bass – Sir Horace Gentleman
  • Guitar – Roddy Radiation
  • Keyboards, Backing Vocals – Jerry Dammers
  • Vocals – Terry Hall
  • Vocals, Percussion – Neville Staples

Written By – A1: Dammers/Hall/Panter/Golding/Bradbury/Staples/Byers, A2: Dammers/L. Chalmers, B1: R Radiation, B2: Hibbert

Design: Wyke Studios

Producer – John Sparrow

Band Biography

The Specials, also known as The Special AKA, are an English 2 Tone and ska revival band formed in 1977 in Coventry. After some early changes, the first stable lineup of the group consisted of Terry Hall and Neville Staple on vocals, Lynval Golding and Roddy Radiation on guitars, Horace Panter on bass, Jerry Dammers on keyboards, John Bradbury on drums, and Dick Cuthell and Rico Rodriguez on horns. Their music combines a “danceable ska and rocksteady beat with punk’s energy and attitude”. Lyrically, they present a “more focused and informed political and social stance”.

Leave a Reply