The Slits (SFPS021)

The Slits

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS021
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM, EP
Country: UK
Released: 1987
Genre: Rock, Punk
Style: Leftfield, Dub Punk, Experimental
Transmission Date: 27 September 1977

℗ 1987 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1987 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A1Love And Romance2:25
B1New Town3:30



  • Bass – Tessa
  • Drums – Palmolive
  • Rhythm Guitar – Viv Albertine
  • Vocals – Ari Up

Written By – Forster, Romero, Pollitt, Albertine

Design: Wyke Studios

Producer – Tony Wilson

Band Biography

The Slits were a British punk and post-punk band formed in London in 1976 by members of the groups The Flowers of Romance and The Castrators. The group’s early line-up consisted of Ari Up (Ariane Forster) and Palmolive (a.k.a. Paloma Romero, who played briefly with Spizzenergi and later left to join The Raincoats), with Viv Albertine and Tessa Pollitt replacing founding members Kate Korus and Suzy Gutsy. Their 1979 debut album, Cut, has been called one of the defining releases of the post-punk era.

Leave a Reply