The Damned (SFPS002)

The Damned SFPS002

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS002
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM, EP
Country: UK
Released: 1986
Genre: Rock
Style: Punk
Transmission Date: 10 May 1977

℗ 1986 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1986 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A1Sick Of Being Sick2:25
A2Stretcher Case1:50
B1Fan Club2:50
B2Feel The Pain3:35



  • Bass – Captain Sensible
  • Guitar – Brian James
  • Lead Vocals – Dave Vanian
  • Drums – Rat Scabies

Design: Wyke Studios

Written By: A1/B1/B2 – James, A2 – Scabies/James

Produced by: Jeff Griffin

Mastered By: Bob Jones

Band Biography

The Damned are an English rock band formed in London, England in 1976 by lead vocalist Dave Vanian, guitarist Brian James, bassist (and later guitarist) Captain Sensible, and drummer Rat Scabies. They were the first punk rock band from the United Kingdom to release a single, “New Rose” (1976), release an album, Damned Damned Damned (1977), and tour the United States. They have nine singles that charted on the UK Singles Chart Top 40.

The band briefly broke up after Music for Pleasure (1977), the follow-up to their debut album, was critically dismissed. They quickly reformed without Brian James, and released Machine Gun Etiquette (1979).[9] In the 1980s they released four studio albums, The Black Album (1980), Strawberries (1982), Phantasmagoria (1985), and Anything (1986), which saw the band moving towards a gothic rock style. The latter two albums did not feature Captain Sensible, who had left the band in 1984.[10] In 1988, James and Sensible rejoined to play a series of reunion gigs. One of which was released the next year as the live album Final Damnation.

As one of the first gothic rock bands, The Damned were a major influence on the goth subculture with lead singer Vanian’s vampire-themed costume, baritone singing voice and dark lyrics being major influences


Leave a Reply