Madness (SFPS007)

Madness Peel Sessions

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS007
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM,
Country: UK
Released: 1986
Genre: Rock
Style: Ska
Transmission Date: 14 August 1979

℗ 1986 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1986 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A1The Prince2:31
A2Bed And Breakfast Man3:24
B1Land Of Hope And Glory2:42
B2Stepping Into Line2:38



  • Vocals – Suggs (Graham McPherson)
  • Bass – Mark Bedford (Bedders)
  • Guitar/Vocals – Chris Foreman (Chrissy Boy)
  • Drums – Woody Woods Woodgate (Dan Woodgate)
  • Keyboards – Mike Barson (Monsieur Barso)

Written By – A1 – L Thompson, A2 – M Barson, B1 – Thompson/Foreman, B2 Bedford/McPherson

Design: Wyke Studios

Producer – Bob Sargeant

Band Biography

Madness are an English ska band from Camden Town, North London, who formed in 1976. One of the most prominent bands of the late 1970s and early 1980s two-tone ska revival, they continue to perform with six of the seven members of their original line-up. Madness’s most successful period was from 1980 to 1986, when the band’s songs spent a total of 214 weeks on the UK Singles Chart. (UB40 shared the same number of weeks, the largest for any British group in the decade, but over a longer period.)

Madness have had 15 singles reach the UK top ten, which include “One Step Beyond”, “Baggy Trousers” and “It Must Be Love”, one UK number one single “House of Fun” and two number ones in Ireland, “House of Fun” and “Wings of a Dove”. “Our House” was their biggest US hit. In 2000 the band received the Ivor Novello Award from the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors for Outstanding Song Collection.

Leave a Reply