June Brides (SFPS023)

June Brides

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS023
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM, EP
Country: UK
Released: 1987
Genre: Rock,
Style: Indie Rock
Transmission Date: 5 November 1985

℗ 1987 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1987 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A1This Town2:40
A2Waiting For A Change2:15
B1We Belong2:15
B2One Day2:58



  • Bass – Adrian Carter
  • Drums – Dave Bickley
  • Guitar – Simon Beesley
  • Trumpet – Jon Hunter
  • Viola – Frank Sweeney
  • Vocals, Guitar – Phil Wilson

Written By – Phil Wilson

Design: Wyke Studios

Producer – Phil Ward-Large

Band Biography

The June Brides are an English indie pop group, formed in London in 1983, by Phil Wilson and Simon Beesley of International Rescue. Influenced by Postcard-label bands such as Josef K and punk-era bands such as Buzzcocks, The Desperate Bicycles and The Television Personalities, their mix of guitar pop with viola and trumpet formed a blueprint for many of the indie pop bands that would follow.

In June 2012, the band reformed and released its first new single in 23 years via Slumberland Records and Occultation Records, followed by a second new single in 2014.

Leave a Reply