Girls At Our Best (SFPS029)

Girls At Our Best

Label: Strange Fruit ‎SFPS029
Series: The Peel Sessions
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 45 RPM, EP
Country: UK
Released: 1987
Genre: Rock
Style: Indie Rock
Transmission Date: 23 February 1981

℗ 1987 BBC Enterprises Ltd.
© 1987 Strange Fruit Records
Distributed by Pinnacle Records

Track Listing
A1China Blue3:05
A2This Train2:50
BGetting Beautiful Warm Gold Fast From Nowhere4:56



  • Bass, Vocals – Gerard Swift
  • Drums – Carl Harper
  • Guitar, Vocals – James Alan
  • Vocals – Judy Evans

Written By – A1, B1: Girls At Our Best, A2: Traditional (Arr. Girls At Our Best),

Design: Wyke Studios

Producer – Dale Griffin

Band Biography

Girls at Our Best! were an English post-punk band, founded in Leeds, England in 1979 under the name The Butterflies. They had several UK Independent Singles Chart hits during their three-year existence.

The group initially consisted of vocalist Judy “Jo” Evans, guitarist James “Jez” Alan, bassist Gerard “Terry” Swift and drummer Chris Oldroyd.

They took their new name from a line in their track “Warm Girls”, released as the B-side to their self-financed 1980 debut single “Getting Nowhere Fast”. The single, released in April 1980 on their own Record Records, reached No. 9 on the UK Indie Chart.

Leave a Reply